Friday, August 8, 2014

BREAKING. CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards 2014 set for Tanzania; 28 finalist from 10 African countries announced.

The CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards 2014 is set for Tanzania, with the African continent's most prestigious competition honouring excellence in journalism set to take place on Saturday 18 October in Dar es Salaam.

Isha Sesay of CNN News Center on CNN International (DStv 401) and who has done absolutely stellar reporting and coverage this year on the plight of the missing Nigerian school girls, will again be the host of the awards ceremony as she has been over several previous years.

The names of 28 finalists from 10 countries in the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards 2014 were just announced, with only one South African television entry - M-Net's investigative magazine show Carte Blanche - making the cut as a contender.

Kenya and Kenyan journalists dominate the list of finalists in this year's CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards 2014 with seven entries (8 journalists) in the shortlist.

Besides Carte Blanche, a few other South African print journalists managed to make the list of finalists for the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards 2014 competition.

With a dramatic cut-back in categories and a blending of former separate categories - the best TV features award and best TV news bulletin award has for instance been culled.

It's now harder than ever before for TV reporters, TV news producers and journalists working in African television - to make the list of finalist in the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards.

Making the list of finalists in television journalism are Joy Summers and Susan Cromrie for M-Net's Carte Blanche in South Africa.

Brito Simango from Televisao de Mocambique in Mozambique is also a finalist, together with Anne Mawethe and Rashid Ibrahim from Citizen TV in Kenya.

South African finalists on the list of 28 include Vinayak Bhardwaj and Tibelo Timse from the Mail&Guardian Centre for Investigative Journalism from the Mail&Guardian; freelancer Sean Christie for Landbouweekblad; and Paballo Thekiso from the Saturday Star.

The other finalists on this year's list who will be competing for top honours across Africa include:

Daniel Biaou Adje (ORTB, Benin); Safia Berkouk (El Watan, Algeria); Romao Brandao (Journal OPAIS, Angola), Obinna Emelike (Business Day, Nigeria), Ben Ezeamalu and Emmanuel Ogala (Premium Times, Nigeria); Bob Koigi (, Kenya), freelancer Joseph Mathenge (The Saturday Nation, Kenya); Patrick Mayoyo (Daily Nation, Kenya), Christine Muthee and Oliver Ochanda (MEDEVA, Kenya), Dickson Ng'hily (The Guardian, Tanzania), John Muchangi Njiru (The Star, Kenya), Olatunji Ololade (The Nation, Nigeria), Bayo Olupohunda (Punch, Nigeria); Ossene Ouattara (,Ivory Coast); freelancer Suy Kahofi (West Africa Democratic Radio, Senegal); Bento Venancio (Journal Domingo,Mozambique) and Evelyn Watta for in Kenya.

Tony Maddox, the executive vice-president and managing director of CNN International says he is "proud that the competition "continues to maintain its place as the most prestigious pan-African journalist awards".

Nico Meyer, CEO of MultiChoice Africa says that the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards fg"demonstrates CNN's and MultiChoice's commitment to the development of media in Africa".

"This is a very special year as we celebrate our 10th year of our partnership".

"Thank you for telling the stories of Africa," says Imtiaz Patel, the group CEO of MultiChoice South Africa to the finalists. "We look forward to celebrating your journalistic excellence at the awards in October".