Tuesday, April 9, 2019

E! commissions new 10-episode show, Celebrity Game Night, produced by Rapid Blue, as its next localised African series; production starting July for broadcast in late-2019.

E! Entertainment (DStv 124) has commissioned Celebrity Game Night as a local South African version of the American game show, Hollywood Game Night, with the first 10-episode season that will start production in July and be broadcast on E! in late-2019.

Celebrity Game Night, produced by Rapid Blue, is NBCUniversal International Networks' latest local production in Africa, following The Search: E! Host Africa, How Do I Look? SA and sporadic red carpet coverage at events and awards shows like the Saftas and Samas.  

E! didn't announce a host or participants for Celebrity Game Night but confirmed that it will be a local South African TV presenter who will guide African celebrities through episodes' games.

Based on the format distributed by NBCUniversal International Formats, in each episode two teams of celebrity guests face-off against each other as they play hilarious and outrageous party games that test pop culture knowledge, acting skills and nerves.

"With outstanding success as an international format, Celebrity Game Night is perfectly placed as the latest local production for E! Africa," says Lee Raftery, the managing director for the UK and emerging markets and chief marketing & content officer at NBCUniversal International.

"I'm excited to bring local nuances to this fun, high-energy series, which will feature the best of African pop culture and celebrity."

"As we celebrate 15 years of E! in Africa, in partnership with DStv, and follow on from recent success with How Do I Look? South Africa, this commission demonstrates our continued commitment to creating impactful local content which reflects the market." 

On Thursday evening in Johannesburg E! will celebrate its 15th anniversary in Africa with a special celebration party for which it also chose winners for its first-ever E! Africa Pop Culture Awards with Trevor Noah, Black Coffee and Akin Omatoso who were already announced as category winners.