Tuesday, August 22, 2017

South Africa's parliament shortlists 36 names for new SABC board; CV's to be made public, interviews to take place over 3 days.

Parliament on Tuesday narrowed-down and chose a shortlist of 36 names of people to be interviewed out of the applications received, to serve on the new SABC board.

The 36 candidates will be interviewed on 29 and 30 August and 1 September by the members of parliament of parliament's portfolio committee on communications.

The beleaguered SABC's board keeps lurching from crisis to crisis with hardly any SABC board in years that has served its full term of 5 years.

This happens as successive SABC board and board melts down due to infighting, macro political infighting over the SABC and the public broadcaster's byzantine and almost unconquerable financial, management and corruption challenges.

The SABC currently has an interim board whose tenure expires at the end of September.

All 5 members of the SABC interim board were nominated, and they all made the shortlist to possibly serve on the public broadcaster's next new permanent SABC board.

  1. Mr Mathatha Godfrey Tsedu
  2. Mr Krish Naidoo
  3. Ms Khanyisile Kweyama
  4. Mr John Matisonn
  5. Mrs Febe Potgieter-Gqubule
  6. Ms Nomvuyiso Batyi
  7. Ms Rachel Kalidass
  8. Mr Thabiso Ratsomo
  9. Mr Rufus Dzuguda Kharidzha
  10. Mr Michael Markovitz
  11. Mr William Currie
  12. Mr Sandile Kama
  13. Dr Deenadaylen Konar
  14. Ms Harriet Meier
  15. Ms Dawn Earp
  16. Mr Michael Bauer
  17. Judge Chris Greenland
  18. Mr Desmond Golding
  19. Mr Manaka Mathumo
  20. Mr Victor Rambau
  21. Mr Tshifhiwa Khorommbi
  22. Mr Mcebo Khumalo
  23. Ms Seipati Khumalo
  24. Dr Thidziambi Nethengwe
  25. Ms Cikizwa Dingi
  26. Ms Louise Vale
  27. Mr Yaasir Haffejee
  28. Mr Kwanele Gumbi
  29. Mr Jack Devnarian
  30. Mr Bongumusa Makhathini
  31. Mr Nkosana Mbokane
  32. Mr Michael Sass
  33. Mr Jim Matsho
  34. Mr Jack Phahlane
  35. Mr Dinkwanyane Mohuba
  36. Ms Leanne Govindsamy
The ANC political party initially wanted the controversial former SABC News head and SABC executive Snuki Zikalala included on the list but the yesteryear Hlaudi Motsoeneng harbinger was eventually left off the list.

Opposition political parties couldn't help themselves and laughed out loud in parliament when the ANC political party's Mziwamadoda Kalako read out Snuki Zikalala's name for wannabe inclusion on the list.

The CV's of all 36 shortlisted candidates will be published on parliament's website for the public and civil society to submit comments.

In a statement the Democratic Alliance (DA) political party's MP Phumzile van Damme says the "DA has pushed to ensure that the process of appointing the new permanent board of the SABC is open and transparent for the people of South Africa to have their say."

"The SABC is a public broadcaster which serves the people of our country and they must be included in this process."

"The DA will continue to push for the process to be conducted with public participation to ensure that the SABC is once again restored to its former status as a world-class news and entertainment service provider".