Monday, October 31, 2016

Jennifer Lopez to perform for the first time in South Africa at ANN7's South African of the Year Awards 2016 on 25 November.

Jennifer Lopez will be heading to South Africa for her first-ever performance as ANN7 is lining up more American artists for its 3rd South African of the Year Awards.

J.Lo will join Robin Thicke, announced earlier this month as the award show's main act, at ANN7’s (DStv 405) third SATY Awards 2016 that will take place on 25 November at the Ticketpro Dome in Johannesburg and will be broadcast live at 18:00 on the day.

The SABC’s Top Billing presenters' trio of Bonang Matheba, Jonathan Boynton-Lee and Jeannie D will be the three main presenters.

Her SATY Awards 2016 appearance will be her first performance in South Africa, with Jennifer Lopez who is currently doing her Las Vegas concert residency at the AXIS Theatre and is producing the second season of her TV drama series, Shades of Blue.

According to ANN7, Jennifer Lopez will perform her biggest hits throughout the ceremony alongside South African artists.

"The SATY's are the epitome of what it means to be South African," says Moegsien Williams, ANN7 editor-in-chief.

"This year the theme is 'Reflection and Progression'. We take the time to remind people what it means to be South African – as the country commemorates 40 years of youth empowerment".

The SATY 2016 will award prizes to the country’s musicians, artists, conservationists, sport, youth and business leaders with ANN7 viewers voting for the nominees in various categories.

Last year Christina Aguilera who was announced as the headline act at the 2nd SATY Awards 2015 pulled out and was replaced by Jason Derulo whose appearance was widely panned and criticised after he asked the audience who refused to stand up when he asked, “Y’all speak English, right?"

Last year's SATY Awards was changed from a concert to an “invitation only” closed event with other media locked out; no word yet on whether media will be allowed back and invited to this year’s South African of the Year Awards.