Friday, June 12, 2015

Nominees for the 2015 MTV Africa Music Awards announced; again includes Trevor Noah in the category Personality of the Year.

The MTV Africa Music Awards 2015 set to take place on 18 July at the Durban International Convention Centre and broadcast live on MTV Base (DStv 322) across Africa on Thursday night revealed a total of 70 nominees in 13 categories.

While Viacom International Media Networks Africa (VIMN Africa) - which runs both MTV Base (DStv 322) as well as sister channel Comedy Central Africa (DStv 122) and MTV (DStv 130) among its channel set on MultiChoice's DStv satellite pay-TV platform - made no announcement yet on who will be hosting the 2015 MAMAs, South African TV and music insiders are pointing to Trevor Noah as the perfect front runner to host.

Trevor Noah was nominated last night in the category, Personality of the Year for the 2015 MAMAs for a second time in a row.

Since he starts on 28 September as new host of The Daily Show on sister channel Comedy Central, hosting the awards show would be a marketing and corporate synergy bonanza.

MTV Base viewers can now vote at and Alex Okosi, the senior vice president and managing director for Viacom International Media Networks Africa (VIMN Africa) says the 2015 MAMAs "are thrilled to pay tribute to the dynamism, creativity and passion of all the nominees".

Nominees across various categories range from Nigeria's Davido, Tanzania's Diamond and Ghana's Sarkodie, to South Africa's Bucie and Nigeria's Seyi Shay and Yemi Alade.

New talent receiving nods range from South Africa's Cassper Nyovest who attended the 2015 MAMAs nominees announcement in Harem, Johannesburg on Thursday night, along with Stonebwoy (Ghana), Anna Joyce (Angola), Patoranking (Nigeria) and South Africa's Duncan.

Nominees for the new category, the MTV Base Leadership Award and Best International Act will be announced later.

The nominees for the following categories at the 2015 MAMAs were announced:

Best Male
AKA (South Africa)
Davido (Nigeria)
Diamond (Tanzania)
Sarkodie (Ghana)
Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best Female
Bucie (South Africa)
Busiswa (South Africa)
Seyi Shay (Nigeria)
Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania)
Yemi Alade (Nigeria)

Best Group
B4 (Angola)
Beatenberg (South Africa)
Black Motion (South Africa)
P-Square (Nigeria)
Sauti Sol (Kenya)

Best New Act Transformed by Absolut
Anna Joyce (Angola)
Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
Duncan (South Africa)
Patoranking (Nigeria)
Stonebwoy (Ghana)

Best Hip Hop
Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
K.O. (South Africa)
Phyno (Nigeria)
Olamide (Nigeria)
Youssoupha (DRC)

Best Collaboration
AKA, Burna Boy, Da LES & JR: “All Eyes On Me” (SA/Nigeria)
Davido featuring Uhuru & DJ Buckz: “The Sound” (Nigeria/SA)
Diamond & Iyanya: “Bum Bum” (Kenya/Nigeria)
Toofan & DJ Arafat: “Apero Remix” (Togo/Ivory Coast)
Stanley Enow & Sarkodie: “Njama Njama Cow Remix” (Cameroon/Ghana)

Song of the Year
Cassper Nyovest: “Doc Shebeleza” (South Africa)
Euphonik featuring Mpumi: “Busa” (South Africa)
DJ Fisherman & NaakMusiQ featuring DJ Tira, Danger & Dream Team: “Call Out” (South Africa)
K.O featuring Kid X: “Caracara” (South Africa)
Lil Kesh Featuring Olamide & Davido: “Shoki Remix” (Nigeria)
Mavins: “Dorobucci” (Nigeria)
Sauti Sol: “Sura Yako” (Kenya)
Toofan: “Gweta” (Togo)
Wizkid: “Show You The Money” (Nigeria)
Yemi Alade: “Johnny” (Nigeria)

Best Live
Big Nuz (South Africa)
Diamond (Tanzania)
Flavour (Nigeria)
Mi Casa (South Africa)
Toofan (Togo)

Video of the Year
“Crazy” - Seyi Shay Featuring Wizkid; Director: Meji Alabi
“Doors” - Prime Circle; Director: Ryan Kruger
“Love You Everyday” - Bebe Cool; Director: Clarence Peters
“Nafukwa” - Riky Rick; Director: Adriaan Louw
“The Sound” - Davido Featuring Uhuru & DJ Buckz; Director: Sesan

Best Pop & Alternative
Fuse ODG (Ghana)
Jeremy Loops (South Africa)
Jimmy Nevis (South Africa)
Nneka (Nigeria)
Prime Circle (South Africa)

Best Francophone
DJ Arafat (Ivory Coast)
Jovi (Cameroon)
Laurette Le Pearle (DRC)
Tour 2 Garde (Ivory Coast)
Toofan (Togo)

Best Lusophone
Ary (Angola)
B4 (Angola)
Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)
NGA (Angola)
Yuri Da Cunha (Angola)

Personality of the Year
Basketmouth (Nigeria)
Bonang Matheba (South Africa)
OC Ukeje (Nigeria)
Trevor Noah (South Africa)
Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast)