Tuesday, March 24, 2015

Five people shortlisted as a possible SABC board member replacement; Lumko Mtimde dropped due to lack of proof of qualifications.

Five people - Saskia Janine Hickey, Ntomizandile Lesame, Keabatswe Modimoeng, Jenni Irish-Quobosheane and Ashwin Trikamjee - have been shortlisted by parliament as a possible new SABC board member.

One of these five people will replace the disgraced Ellen Zandile Tshabalala, who lied about her qualifications, on the SABC board.

Lumko Mtimde, who was on the SABC board and resigned in 2013 after ugly SABC board infighting with the then SABC chairperson dr. Ben Ngubane, was shortlisted as one of the 97 nominees but he was disqualified.

Lumko Mtimde was disqualified as one of the final shortlisted SABC board member candidates after proof of his academic records, as stated on his CV, were not submitted.