Monday, April 8, 2013

Names of the SABC interim board members rubber stamped by president Jacob Zuma following the implosion of the SABC board last month.

The names of the new interim SABC board - the second interim SABC board the public broadcaster is getting within 4 years - has been approved by president Jacob Zuma.

Parliament's portfolio committee on communications rushed names through the general assembly last month without investigating why the SABC board resigned.

The portfolio committee was primarily interested in just putting together an interim SABC board after the destruction and total meltdown of corporate governance at the beleaguered public broadcaster, following bitter in-fighting between the SABC board, and the board and the minister of communications Dina Pule over the matricless  Hlaudi Motsoeneng's tenure as acting chief operating officer (COO) at the SABC.

It's a position Hlaudi Motsoeneng now still holds, after he was removed by the now dissolved SABC board.

President Jacob Zuma has now rubber stamped Zandile Tshabalala as the new chairperson of the interim SABC board, Noluthando Gosa as deputy chairperson who has resigned twice before as SABC board member, and as interim SABC board members the economist Iraj Abedian, the former public service commissioner member Vusumzi Mavuso, and the chartered accountant Ronnie Lubisi.

The minister of communications, Dina Pule, met with the new SABC interim board on Thursday.

Parliament's portfolio committee on communications now has to start the process of opening applications and nominations to yet again - the umpteenth time the last five years - appoint a new permanent SABC board.